Blytheville Middle School Band marches onward

Friday, August 25, 2023
B. Kay Richter

Despite the hot temperatures, the Blytheville Middle School Band marched from their band hall to the Blytheville Administration Building - all while carrying band instruments and never stopping the rhythm and beat of their music on Thursday, Aug. 24. Once the band arrived at the Blytheville Administration Building, band members and majorettes proceeded to entertain the crowd of 50 parents, teachers, students and school board members for over 30 minutes. Mayor Melisa Logan was in the audience and could be heard chanting "Whose city is this? Our City!/ Whose kids are these? Our Kids!" directly following the performance. The band was coached by Blytheville Middle School Band music instructor Wallace Montgomery III and band leader Demechee Robinson. The following is a list of students participating in the performance before the scheduled school board meeting: Sixth Grade Band Members A'Khylee Bates, Willow Beagles, Jaden Brown, Rayshawn Lee Childs JR, Alexa Cole, Curtis Davenport, Rickey Davidson, Brantley Davis, Miracle Donerson, Desarae Frazier, Genesis Geter, Bayro Gonzalez, Zavier Harris, Jarrell Hill, Kha'Miyah Jackson, Tyirah King, Tailyn Lowe, Mason McCanless, Ja'Ziah McDougal, Juan Antonio JR Perez, Beth Ann Ring, Xavier Robinson, Jared Sanders, Antonio Elijah Taylor, Jasper Walker, Jordyn Waters, Skye Wheeler, Dia'Quan Wiley Seventh Grade Band Members Aniyah Barnes, Elijah Brown, Jaibin Burnett, Vernon Burton III, Kinsey Cisero, Tyvell Davis, Peyton Depriest, Zion Green-Conley, Na'Rieon Hill, Eysis Jackson, Christopher Logan, Nasir Pippin, Hailee Primas, Chance Razor, Cordero Jamiane Rodgers JR, JaQuan Smith Eighth Grade Band Members Jaxon Bloodworth, Shanaya Campbell, Syriah Clark, Kamron Clay, Anthony Parnell, Nasir Robey, Shamarion Stokes Flag line/Color Guard Cheyenna Nealey, Courtnie Jones, Olivia Burks, Maliyah Jones, Mya Garne, Dazhanir Blockmon, LeAisia Lard, Octaveyah McKillion, Zaiah Modica Majorettes 61), Xyin Akers, Nivea Love, Ny'Kemi Newmy, Princess Mitchell, Shiann Meadows, Laila Watson, Cheyenne Palmore, DiKiyla Knowles, Harmony Steverson, E'Niya McDougal, Timberly Rogers